Flames

Author(s): Robbie Arnott

General Fiction

"A strange and joyous marvel" Richard Flanagan

For readers of Jennifer Egan, Evie Wyld, Sara Baume and David Szalay.

Robbie Arnott's mad, wild debut novel is rough-hewn from the Tasmanian landscape and imbued with the folkloric magic of the oldest fireside storytellers.

A young man named Levi McAllister decides to build a coffin for his twenty-three-year-old sister, Charlotte-who promptly runs for her life. A water rat swims upriver in quest of the cloud god. A fisherman named Karl hunts for tuna in partnership with a seal. And a father takes form from fire.

The answers to these riddles are to be found in this tale of grief and love and the bonds of family, tracing a journey across the southern island that takes us full circle.

Flames sings out with joy and sadness. Utterly original in conception, spellbinding in its descriptions of nature and its celebration of the power of language, it announces the arrival of a thrilling new voice in contemporary fiction.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE READINGS PRIZE FOR NEW AUSTRALIAN FICTION

$22.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
1

Add to Cart


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781922268211
  • : Text Publishing Company
  • : Text Publishing Company
  • : 0.194
  • : February 2020
  • : ---length:- '23.4'width:- '12.9'units:- Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 256
  • : Paperback
  • : Robbie Arnott